Skip to content

My Last Hurrah

July 4, 2012

I love being on the water…the ocean breezes and the saltwater smells, meeting new people and being close with my family and of course, my favorite thing about water, swimming. In my old age, I tolerate being picked up and appreciate assistance when I can’t quite ground my paws. The docks, however, seem to have expanded exponentially in length from last years trip.  When my life jacket is presented, I’m psyched to swim, but not so keen on being swung between the boat and the dock suspended by its handle. And I’m tired of traversing long hard and often slippery docks in an attempt to locate grass. Marina pools don’t allow dogs, not that I can make it that far anyway, and my sea legs are tired . Thus, I have decided that my boating days have come to an end.

We had a safe passage from Key West back home to Fort Myers, taking a straight shot in around 5 hours. Here are some highlights from my last trip:

  • Being entertained by three manatees in the Key West Bight marine harbor.
  • Hanging out on the back of the boat with my peeps during cocktail hour and late night card games. (Mom couldn’t win a hand this time around.)
  • Running in calm seas in the gulf breeze.

I’m now enjoying the comforts of home where the grass is close, the floor padded, and the pool warmly welcomes dogs. Thanks for following my boating adventures.

Sunny

From → Florida

One Comment
  1. Diane Allison permalink

    Glad you made it back safe and sound. Home sweet home is a nice place for to relax the old bones. Happy 4th!

Leave a comment